CONFESSION TIME (ON CLOTHING)

Confession is sometimes linked with Lent, and rightly so. In Anglican tradition, all may, some should, but none must, go to confession. With those options in mind, I shall now confess . . . that I am a big man. I like my food, I eat for stress relief, and I am not wild about exercise. Every time I leave the hospital after visiting parishioners in need, I re-covenant with myself and various higher powers, to be better in my personal stewardship of body and health, to eat less, to make better decisions about food, and to embody wellness. I berate myself for poor democratic intentions (what a waste of health care dollars if I end up costing the taxpayer for health care).

On the positive side, I had Nor-walk flu a few weeks ago and was thus purged (very Lenten). So I took the opportunity for a ‘fresh start’ and have given up night time eating. It’s not much, but it’s a start. Now I push towards less meat and more vegetables, and generally, less of everything.

Most positively, I have a cupboard quite full of clothes which are, err, rather tight. So I pass them on intentionally to places which can re-cycle clothes, passing them on at no cost to others, as suggested by the carbon fast for February the 20th. And what a valuable collection of clothes I own, as I suspect we all do.

To think that in other times, we threw such goods away, at least in North America. More difficult for us here in Western Canada is what to do with fabric no longer useful to other owners. I am reminded of SOMETHING FROM NOTHING http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/887573.Something_From_Nothing a children’s story we used to read to our young children. Everything has a use, and it’s worth the effort thinking about how to re-use, everything. It’s a lot of work sometimes, but worth the effort.

Ken Gray

p.s. We love to receive your LIKES and COMMENTS. Also if you want to be notified of new posts CLICK on POSTS RSS to the right of this post. Likewise for COMMENTS. And yes, we are working on the FACEBOOK connection but are not configured quite yet.

 

Leave a Reply

