MY FUNNY VALENTINE

One problem hosting a blog from Western Canada is that by the time I think of something to say, the rest of the world is asleep or has moved on to the next day.

That said, my reflections on Valentine’s Day (Feb 14 in North America) are these:

The carbon fast makes a good suggestion to use creative wrapping for gifts and avoid paper products.

I don’t however give presents on the day but my wife did surprise me with a lovely Thursday meal, most unexpected in a work week, in which I sometimes cook.

I did think about chocolate (which I love) and the sad fact that most cocoa beans are harvested in situations using exploitative child labour – the ‘ethical chocolate’ movement deserves our support.

http://www.davidsuzuki.org/blogs/queen-of-green/2012/12/fair-trade-organic-chocolate-is-the-sweetest-deal/?gclid=CMyht6rOt7UCFe1_QgodyVwAcQ

Best of all, the preferred use of Valentine’s Day is to visit YouTube and listen to Chet Baker’s version of My Funny Valentine

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvXywhJpOKs

Grace and compassion, Ken Gray

 

Leave a Reply

